Resolution no. 5: Do stuff

I write a lot about big concepts, ideology, and life philosophies.

That’s all well and good because I thoroughly enjoy thinking and discusses such topics, but the fact of the matter is that sometimes those thoughts are hard to put in place because of their complexity. Sometimes simply knowing where to begin when it comes to being a human being or valuing yourself appropriately is a challenge.

So for my final New Year’s resolution-themed blog I’m just going to write three things I want to do in 2015. This is an idea I totally ripped off from Donald Miller. In a post on his Storyline blog, Miller said he only aims to complete three projects each year to help eliminate the temptation to attempt to do too much.

I think that’s smart. Most of the time my life kind of resembles my efforts to clean up my house. I find myself bouncing between about 10 different tasks, never fully completing any of them, and eventually just giving up and watching Netflix.

So focusing on three things seems wise. Here are mine.

1. Clean, polish, edit, and submit my book to someone.

I spent much of my free time last year penning the rough draft of my book about Bible college. It might not be the greatest book ever, but it also might not be the worst. I owe it to myself to doll it up the best I can and find out.

2. Volunteer with something

I spent much of my early 20s volunteering. Most of it was church related and while it was fun, I think it got to be a bit too much for a very confused 20 something. I got burned out and then busy with grad school, so volunteering became more miss than hit.

I’d like to fine something to do, someone to help. I’m not talking anything huge, just something worthwhile that could ease me back into that mode of helping people. I’m also not sure exactly what this service will look like, but I’m going to do my best to be open to opportunities that come my way.

3. Take my professional writing to a new venue

I’ll be honest, I’m getting restless in my professional life. I would have never guessed I would end up a newspaper reporter, and not get me wrong, I really dig my job about 75 percent of the time, but there is a drive in me for something else. There is some need inside me to do something more creative, more big picture, and not so southwest Virginia centric.

Will it be getting back into the world of sketch comedy or maybe an attempt at stand-up? I don’t know.

Maybe a creative side project with a non-profit or an entire career move? I don’t know.

All I know is that I want to have tried something new by the year’s end and I’m all ears to suggestions.

So there are my three things to do this year. I guess maybe they are still a little vague in places, but I think it’s a good place to start, and sometimes that’s the hardest part.

–@TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

