The focus of a selfie

I recently had a friend who developed a series of camp lessons based on selfies and their impact on people’s self-worth.

It’s a really interesting topic, as well as one that seems to be blowing up by Facebook timeline on a regular basis, so naturally, I started thinking about it.

To be honest, I’m not all that concerned with starting any sort of “anti-selfie” campaign. I mean, that would be like telling a kid not to learn to write because he might end up writing cuss words. I can probably think of 100 other causes I’d rather champion.

And let’s be real for a second, we all love pictures of ourselves and that’s really all selfies are, so of course most of us dig them.

But, just to be sure, I decided to investigate my own collection, evaluate my pictures of and ask myself what impact they might be having on my own self-worth.

As I flipped through them I quickly realized, my best selfies, the photos of myself I most enjoyed, really weren’t focused on me. They were focused on other people with which I have a relationship.

Those were the ones that reminded me that I’m not just some guy. I’m a brother, a son, an uncle and a friend. They also reminded me of the relationship I have with my passion for my work and, most importantly, the relationship I have with Jesus.

You know the ones I didn’t really care for? The ones that were solely focused on me. Just me, hanging out with no visible connection whatsoever.

My photos made me realize the most important aspects of me, aren’t me at all.

Our relationships are kind an X-factor like when it comes to how we really feel about ourselves. They can change our entire self-perspective, but yet it’s often easy for us to overlook them, especially in times of self-doubt.

When we find ourselves in those dark corners of life it’s easy to look so much inward, that we lose focus of the reality of who we really are.

Sure, selfies can be used in a negative manner and can have a negative impact on how we feel about ourselves.

But, with the correct focus, maybe they can also be a great tool for reminding us how valuable we really are.

–@TravisKWilliams

 

 

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

