Keeping my vision in check

If you’re one of those folks with perfect vision, you’re blessed.

If you’re one of those folk with perfect vision who thinks it’s cool to wear glasses with no lenses, you are blessed too.

Also, I kind of hate you.

You’re like the friend who comes to visit when you break your leg and ends up playing on the crutches and saying how great they are to hop around on. Not cool, dude.

OK, I don’t really hate you, but seriously, if you have perfect vision, what I’m about to describe is a struggle to which you likely won’t be able to relate.

You see, you’ve always been able to lay in bed and watch TV comfortably. You’ve never had that internal debate over whether or not it was worth waking up feeling as if your contacts were glued to your eyes just so you could fall asleep watching “Parks and Rec.” You’ve also never had attempt to ignore the pain of that nose piece digging into your face when you decided to go the glasses route.

You’ve likely woke up most mornings, able to jump out of bed and face the world, while the rest of us either have to search for where our glasses fell under our beds or stumble into the bathroom and basically rinse our eyeballs with saline before we can even see it.

But that’s just life for those of us with imperfect sight and honestly, it isn’t really that bad.

I mean, so long as we recognize we don’t see the world with complete clarity, we can get the proper assistance and correct our vision.

It only really becomes a dangerous issue when you fail to realize your short comings and get cocky thinking you can see everything. That’s when you end up driving through a produce stand thinking it’s a car wash. Don’t judge me.

Having crappy vision is just one of the many results living in a fallen world, and when you think about it, this problem isn’t limited to our eyesight. There are a lot of things in this world we humans have a tough timing seeing clearly.

Lately there’s been a couple of really tough life issues I’ve struggled with seeing clearly. They are issues that don’t sit well with me and I’ve spent hours tumbling them around in my head trying to figure out, but have yet to be able to capture them in a way that I’m 100 percent satisfied with.

It’s frustrating and honestly, makes me feel dumb.

They are also often the same issues which I see others take hard-line stances on, the majority of which I never fully agree with.

Sometimes I think we’re too quick to jump to one side of the line on issues. I think we’re quick to take hard stances and turn our ears off to listening to the opinions and thoughts of others.

Sometimes I think we get a little cocky about clarity of our vision.

And sometimes, I think we’re a little overconfident we’re looking at issues the same way as God.

Trust me, I know because we can smell our own.

I think this is one of Satan’s great lies he gets us to buy in to. I mean, that’s how he got Adam and Eve. He got them to buy into the idea if they ate the fruit, their eyes would be as open as God’s and we saw how that panned out.

I think he loves getting us to the point of feeling like we’re seeing everything with 100 percent clarity. I think he loves tricking us into quickly drawing hard lines, stepping to one side, and then shutting out anyone on the other.

I’m not saying there isn’t a time and a place for hard lines, there is.

But I think those are the times we have to be the most careful, when we have to check, and double-check ,to make sure our vision of the issue isn’t being impaired somehow.

And let’s face it, life vision isn’t like actual vision. None of us are rocking 20/20 when it comes to life. We all have our own biases, interests, and histories, that can at times taint how we look at issues.

We all need life glasses.

Gosh, that was dorky. Did I really just type “life glasses?” Yup. But man, I can’t think of anything better.

So, life glasses, we all need them.

We all need a little assistance, a little help, a little guidance when it comes to dealing with certain issues.

Maybe it’s talking with like-minded mentors. Maybe it’s talking with people who believe the polar opposite. Maybe it’s balancing both of those with a heavy dose of what the Bible says about the issue.

I don’t know what it is for you and I don’t know what issues out there give you the most trouble.

Heck, I don’t even always know what they are for me. But the older I get, the more I am able to identify the issues I’m just not seeing clearly. The issues I most need help getting a clearly vision of.

To be honest, I’m often a mess of a person with terrible vision, especially when it comes to certain issues.

But I realize that and am searching for the help I need to get a clearer picture.

Hopefully that’s the first step in correcting my vision.

–@TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

