What I learned from apple butter

I’ve been worrying a lot lately.

If you follow me on Twitter or keep up with my Facebook page, this surely isn’t “breaking news.”

Between winter’s gas bills, student loan repayments, and a broken down car, my underpaying salary has landed me in the red the past couple months and set my mind racing.

Now I’m not writing this for sympathy, I just wanted throw out my situation because it’s likely you can relate. You’ve probably been at that point where you start to think the worst and have nightmares of making your home under a bridge, living off squirrel sandwiches.

And if you can’t, if you’ve never been to this irrational place, well then you win. Be thankful.

When you’re trying to operate just above the red any additional chaos is awful, so this week’s snowstorm came like a punch in the gut.

But as I was walking around the grocery Tuesday night, nursing my sucker-punched stomach and stocking up on some canned goods, something great happened. I stumbled down the jelly aisle and decided to buy a pint of apple butter.

Apple butter’s an odd thing. It’s delicious, pretty cheap, and always seems to be in abundance, yet I rarely think to enjoy it. It’s so easy, so simple, but I seem to always let life’s more complex things rob me from thinking of it.

I think that’s the case for a lot of life’s simple blessings. There are things I’m blessed to have available to me everyday, but yet I let the worries of life distract me from enjoying them, and more importantly, being thankful for them.

Jesus told us not to worry. He pointed to the birds and said, if God takes care of them, surely he’ll take care of you.

I’ve read that passage in the book of Matthew a lot, and even used it to justify playing Bob Marley’s “Three Little Birds” a few times during worship. You’re welcome church camp kids.

Now I always thought the passage was simply meant to remind us that God is the ultimate provider and will always be there to take care of us.

But the more I think about it, I think there is also a message of simplicity in Jesus’ message. I think there is also a message of realizing the simple blessings God provides and being thankful for them.

I mean, birds are pretty simple. God provides them twigs for their nests and worms for their bellies, and what do they do? They spend the day singing.

Well, and occasionally flying into sliding glass doors, but mainly singing. Focus on the singing.

Of course our lives are far more complex than birds and we have far more complex concerns and needs. Sadly, we tend to let those complexities worry us and rob us from enjoying the simple blessings God provides everyday and singing his praises for them.

Now I’m not saying if we just focus on the small things in life everything else will fall into place. We all have real world problems we have to deal with and that’s likely not going to change anytime soon.

I’m just saying that in the midst of dealing with life’s complexities, we should never forget to enjoy and be thankful for life’s apple butter.

— @TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I learned from apple butter

  1. meinwords says:

    Really enjoyed this, not only because it is true (God promises to provide for His own) but because I lauged out loud at “focus on the singing”

Leave a Reply

