What you can do when the storm’s coming

I have a confession to make — I hate bad weather.

I’m not sure exactly when this happened, I used to thoroughly enjoy a good rain or snow storm, but at some point I started to consciously understand all the crap that comes with bad weather. (Shoveling snow, power outages, wet socks from melted snow once your back in the house, etc.) And so, I dread it.

Now I’m not quite a run-out-and-get-milk-and-bread guy. I mean, I generally don’t eat bread and haven’t drank milk in years. But I do start to get a little anxious and even little nervous when I start to sense schedule-altering weather headed my way.

Of course, it’s not just weather. I have a general hatred for most things that alter the schedule I’ve created in my head.

I think it’s partly due to the fact that over the years I’ve become a list person. Maybe that’s just part of getting older, but almost all of my days start off with a mental list of things I need to, or want to, accomplish.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, in fact a lot of self-help guides claim it to be one of the keys to success, but it can make it more difficult to deal with an oncoming storm.

So what then am I to do?

I guess I could attempt to pray away the storm. I could ask God to spin the clouds elsewhere, not like to other people, but like out to sea or something where snow could just dump everywhere and touch no one.

Yeah, I could do that, but truth be told, I’ve never had a lot of success praying for better weather. I’m not saying God can’t control the weather or put his hand on life’s conditions, I’m just saying that generally doesn’t seem to be the answer I get to those prayers.

So maybe I’m asking God to change the wrong thing.

Once when I was teaching 8th grade history in South Carolina, I was facing a real schedule crunch. I mean it was like a have to skip the gym type of schedule crunch and it was starting to get to me. (I think it was parent-teacher conference week or something. I’m not sure, I’ve blocked so much of my teaching career out.)

A fellow teacher noticed this and told me not to worry. She reassured me that I’d be able to adjust simply because that’s how God made us, adjustable.

I’m not going to lie, I didn’t like the sound of that. I didn’t like the idea that I had to alter my schedule or adapt my list. I didn’t like the idea that life’s circumstances weren’t going to change and so me sinking or swimming was dependent on me changing.

She was correct though, I adjusted and I survived.

I too often forget that I’m adjustable like that. I too often instead pray for life’s storms to adjust for me, rather than asking God how I can adjust to survive them.

Now I’m not saying that those storms will never pull a 180 for you and me. I pray that they do.

I’m just saying that when you see one coming, remember that you’re adjustable.

— @TravisKWilliams

 

 

 

 

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

