Snow, pig poop, and grace

My first thought every time it snows is pig crap.

I blame thank a certain Bible college professor for this. He grew up on a farm where his family raised hogs and in class he once told us how he was always amazed how snow could completely cover the otherwise disgustingness that is a pig pen and make it look beautiful. He went on to use that as an analogy for how God’s grace covers our sin.

There may not be a more true analogy out there for God’s grace than the snow covered pig poop.

This evening as I look out over my snow covered yard, that thought echoes in my mind.

Granted, there is no pig poop in my yard, at least that I know of, but there are the remnants of gutter repair job gone wrong, some leftovers from various oil changes, and a stray yogurt cup that somehow alluded the garbage men this week. Or last week, I mean, who’s counting, right?

And while those elements are far from beautiful most days in July, tonight they have disappeared under a pure white blanket. It’s like the gutter ordeal never happened! (Until the snow melts and my lack of gutters allows the water to run onto the porch steps and me to recreate scenes from “Home Alone.” But that’s for another blog.)
home alone steps on Make A Gif

make animated gifs like this at MakeAGif

In a lot of ways my life is like my backyard. It’s filled with the remnants of failures, leftovers from poor decisions, and even some elements that I’ve just been too lazy to clean up.

Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up thinking about those short comings and even easier to let them cultivate feelings of self-doubt, which become a slippery slope to devaluing my self-worth. I don’t think I’m very useful to myself or God when I end up in those dark places.

But days like today remind me that God’s grace can cover all that up. It can make the worst parts of me appear as white as snow, and no matter how I look at those past errors, the truth is, God loves me enough to see a warm white blanket.

Of course that’s not to say I shouldn’t own my mess and do a little housekeeping, both in my life and yard, stupid crafty yogurt cup.

But let’s face it, I’m probably always going to be a mess on some level and I’ll likely always have some scars from past failures to deal with.

So there’s never going to be a day when I don’t need that grace and there should never be a day in which I don’t thankfully embrace it.

There should never be a day I forget that God is loving enough, and powerful enough, to make my pig crap disappear.

— @TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

