What I learned from a frozen toilet

Flushing your toilet is one of the underrated pleasures in life.

How do I know this? Because for a few hours Tuesday I was robbed of this pleasure by the “Polar Vortex,” and like a lot of things in life, you never know how much you love something, until it’s gone.

And of course, it was all my fault.

You see, I heard the warnings, I read all the sub-zero prep material, and I even had friends encourage me to take the proper precautions, but I just didn’t feel like it was going to be this bad.

I just didn’t feel like what I was reading was the truth, or at the very least, that it could apply to such a rugged man as myself. I mean I have a beard, right?

But there I sat Tuesday morning, with a toilet full of, well you know, and a frozen pipe yielding no water with which to flush.

It’d didn’t really matter how I felt, the truth was that it got really flipping cold last night and my 80-ish-year-old house could only take so much. Old girl put up a fight, but in the end — Polar Vortex 1, House 0.

Rather than let my feelings change what I was reading about the cold or how I was interpreting it, I should have been letting what I was reading change how I felt.

Truth be told, a lot of times I treat the Bible the same way I treated those cold warnings this week. A lot of times, I let how I feel about a certain topic or issue change how I read the Bible and, at times, alter its message in a way the feels more appealing.

More times than not this has landed me in a very similar spot to the one I was in Tuesday morning — having to deal with a lot of crap because of my own foolishness.

But too often that’s what happens when we let how we feel change how we read the Bible, rather than letting the Bible change how we feel.

Here’s to hoping we will all have the wisdom that create less crap to deal with in 2014.

–@TravisKWilliams

 

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I learned from a frozen toilet

  1. travman44 says:

    Reblogged this on back porch theology and commented:

    “I too often let how I feel, change what the Bible says,” — @TravisKWiliams, Mayor of self-justificationville

Leave a Reply

