What I learned about prayer from Ozzy Osbourne

There are a few TV programs I think every single person has either watched an episode of, or at the very least has seen enough commercials for that they could fake their way through a conversation about it.

“The Osbournes” is definitely on this list.

Be honest with yourself. If you were flipping channels during the early 2000s and caught a glimpse of the Prince of Darkness struggling with a twist tie on a garbage bag, you were done flipping. We all were.

The show was brilliant for its ability to give viewers an opportunity to relate to people like this, who they likely had very little in common with otherwise. I mean, we do all hate those twist ties.

Of course the show also gave us a look at the crazy side of Ozzy, which often manifested itself in a less than desirable fashion.

Now most of the time my mind works in mysterious ways, so it probably shouldn’t come as a shock that one day I began to wonder, who is praying for Ozzy Osborne? And the more I thought about it, the more it bothered me, because I for one, was not.

I mean, as often as we all joked about seeing that dude go crazy, get tanked and throw turkeys over fences and whatnot, never once did I see his name on the prayer list at church. What gives?

I mean of all people, I dare say the Prince of Darkness could use so prayers lofted in his direction, but yet none of us thought to add him to the list of folks having surgery or pets that had colds?

Why did I never mention Ozzy when we were tossing out concerns in numerous prayer circles?

Was I afraid it would seem silly?

Was I afraid people wouldn’t think praying for a celebrity wasn’t a worth while cause?

Or did I just subconsciously assume a person so famous and wealthy didn’t need my prayers?

Now this isn’t just about taking pot shots at Ozzy, there are plenty of celebs that could likely use my prayers. But while I’m always quick to check out their latest fail on TMZ, I’m a million times slower to ask God to look out for them and impact them in a positive way.

Maybe it’s a faith issue for me. Maybe I just don’t believe God can really impact famous folks as much as he can us regular Joes.

I’m not sure exactly why it seems so foreign to pray for the Lindsay Lohans and Robert Downey Jrs. of the world, but I am 100 percent sure that it’s stupid to think that way.

I’m 100 percent sure that those folks are human, just like me and you, and I’m 100 percent sure they need prayers, just like me and you.

If God can take a Christian murderer like Saul and turn him into a missionary named Paul, surely he can do something wonderful with Miley Cyrus and that wrecking ball.

Us Christians often complain the folks in “Hollywood” don’t seem all that into God, but we rarely even do the most effortless, and yet probably most powerful thing we can do, and simply pray for them.

Everyone needs our prayers, maybe those in the spotlight needed them the most.

I’m going to add Ozzy to my prayer list.

–@TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

