The moment verses what you want most

Today we learned Florida State quarterback, Jameis Winston, would not be charged with any crimes after being accused of sexually assaulting the woman at an off-campus apartment on Dec. 7, 2012.

The official word came to many of us via an extremely awkward press conference which featured Florida State Attorney Willie Meggs, who at times looked like he was attempting to test his own stand-up material, rather than simply doing his job.

Here’s a little life advice. If you ever find yourself in the position of having to talk about a topic as serious and emotionally disturbing as rape, leave the giddiness at home. Meggs’ talk was awkward and offsetting, even by Saturday Night Live spoof standards.

Now I have no idea what took place between Winston and the accuser on that night. I’m also no a lawyer and refuse to pretend to be one on this blog, so I’m not going to in any way, shape, or form going to dive into the details of the case and I’m darn sure not going to claim to know one side or the other to be in the right or wrong.

But I do feel the need to try and search for something we can all take away from what has become an awful situation, no matter how you look at it.

So what I do know is that there are at two people who undoubtedly regret the positions they find themselves today, and I’d guess there are some decisions they wish they’d made differently that lead them there.

Most of us can relate to that, just hopefully on a much smaller scale.

Most of us have found ourselves in regrettable positions as a result of some bad decision we made in the past.

A lot of times this happens to me because I’m so often tempted to not worry about the future and simply “live for the moment.”

On the surface, this isn’t an awful philosophy. I mean, we should take risks in life, we should seize the day.

But the problem comes when we trade what we want most, for what we want in the moment.

I’m not going to lie, I stole that from my high school football coach. He used to screw it to us as we were running hills through mounds of cut grass in 90-degree heat.

At the time, I kind of hated him for yelling it as he stood atop the hill with a cigarette. Truth be told, however, he was right.

In that moment, all I wanted was to quit running and go pound some water. But if I did that I would be trading in what I wanted most, which was to not suck on Friday nights in front of all my friends and family. If I made that decision in favor of the water, I would have found myself in a regrettable position down the road.

It’s a fact of life that our present quickly becomes our past and that what we do in the now, will lead us to where we end up in the future.

As tempting as is to grasp what seems great in the present, we’d be wise to always double-check to make sure it isn’t costing us what we want most in the future and end up landing us in a pool of regret.

— @TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

