What The Muppets and Lady Gaga taught me about Jesus

Like a lot of people, I’ve been slightly sucked in to attempting to start Christmas celebrations prior to Thanksgiving. (I blame super-late Thanksgiving for this.)

As part of this, I began browsing the long list of upcoming Holiday-themed TV options. Of course, all the regulars were there.

“A Charlie Brown Christmas”, “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation,” “Elf” and the classic, yet super creepy in hindsight, “Rudolph the Rednosed Reindeer” highlighted my list. (Of course the underrated classic is “Die Hard,” but that’s for another post.)

Then this popped up. “Lady Gaga and The Muppets Holiday Spectacular.”

Whoa. Slow down on the peppermint schnapps TV people.

I just wasn’t sure I was ready to mix my Muppets, which I hold as long time symbol of my wholesome childhood entertainment, with the meat dress lady.

I mean, what if she rubs off on them?

Is Miss Piggy going to end up on a stripper pole by show’s end?

Is Gonzo going to end up in some comprised position while acting as a back-up dancer?

Will Animal end up doing lines in the dressing room before, during, and after the show? Wait, I’ve seen this dude. This might already be happening.

And what about Rowlf? Is she rocks that meat suit, this could get really weird.

As my mind plowed through the most bizarre Muppet-related thoughts I’d ever had, or at least can remember, a realization hit me square in the face. I was looking at this all wrong.

Instead of worrying about Lady Gaga rubbing off on the wholesome characters of my childhood, what I should have been thinking about was how they could just as easily be rubbing off on her. I mean, they outnumber her by like a bizillion. (Truth be told, we’ve never had a solid head count on these creatures. Especially if you throw the Fraggle Rock crew into the mix)

Instead of being her pulling them down, I should have been thinking about how they could lift her up. Maybe create a turning point where she no longer has to be high to be creative or feels the need to show up in photo shoots buck naked with strategically placed moss.

In the big picture, as Christians we tend to do this a lot, and with a lot of people far less deserving of such discrimination than Lady Gaga, or at least the persona she presents herself to be.

We far too often fear spending time with and getting to know someone who is a little bit different, shares a different perspective on God and life, or who might even maintain a world view completely opposite of our own.

No, we don’t always voice our feelings or make some big production out of avoiding that person, but I do think holding on to that fear can greatly hinder us from loving people the way we should.

I mean, when did Jesus ever appear afraid to hang out with someone a little, or a lot, different than him? Never.

Thank God for that, because I’ve been very different from him at times and, at times still probably am.

I think Jesus would be cool sharing a Holiday Spectacular with me and Lady Gaga, so if The Muppets chose to do the same, that’s probably the most Jesus-esque thing they can do.

Which is cool, cause it is that dude’s birthday after-all.

And again, you’re never too old to learn a lot from The Muppets.

@TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

