Friends and alarms; curse their dependable nudges

“Curse you devil bells!”

This thought routinely runs through my head shortly before 5 a.m. each morning as my alarm goes off. Over the past year or so, that jingle, which is probably very delightful in actuality, has become something I dread hearing.

Not surprising. This also happened with “I’m Shipping Up To Boston,” and the theme song to “Justified” when they served as my alarm. Great songs, but I dreaded hearing them begin so much, I grew to hate them.

Now I can’t lay blame on any of the ringtones, it’s really not their fault. They are just trying to give my a much-needed push in the right direction. Lord knows I would be awful mess of regret if I somehow overslept and missed a morning workout. (Yeah, it’s a borderline sick addiction, but I figure they are worse ones. I mean, I could be addicted to eating paste, right?)

It’s not the ringtone’s fault I finally figured out how to watch Netflix on my phone and thought it wise to start watching the third season of “Friday Night Lights” for the 10,000th time.

I put myself in a bad spot, the ringtone is just attempting to serve as a wise guide, and for that, I hate the thought of hearing it. The sad reality of a trustworthy ringtone. What a thankless job.

Truth be told, my alarm ringtone isn’t the only guide in life I’ve done this with. I’ve also found myself on occasion dreading hearing from those I trust the most when I suspect they’re about to give me some much-needed guidance.

We all have these friends, or at least we should. They’re not our good friends, they’re our best friends. The ones that no matter how much we’d sometimes prefer them to just leave us be, keeping calling us, loving us, and giving us little nudges in the direction of becoming better people.

No matter what bad decisions we’ve made or regrettable situations we find ourselves in, there they are, resilient to our pessimism and constantly believing we’re capable of more.

Too often I’ve found myself dreading hearing from these friends, not because of them, but because of me.

Because when we’re in rough spots it’s often much easier to believe we’ve been forgotten about, rather than accept we’re being encouraged. I mean, if we accept encouragement and guidance, we might actually have to take action, and really, who wants to do that?

Still, no matter how much we curse this encouragement under our breath, those friends are still there, going off like clockwork with their love-filled nudges for us to get up and get moving in a positive direction.

For this I am forever grateful because deep down, I know I need it, despite what I might say when that first bell goes off.

— @TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

