Why everyday should be Halloween

Today is Halloween, the one day of the year where almost everyone, who isn’t a dentist or just lame, opens their door prepared to give away a treat, just for the heck of it.

This got me thinking, I wonder what life would be like if each and every time someone knocked on the door of my tiny imitation house, I opened it and greeted them with candy.

Sure, it might come off as a little creepy at times, I mean, there is a little creepy ice cream man in there, but odds are at least a few times it would make that door knocker’s day better and maybe even enhance my own.

I’m not going to lie, I’m the worst person in the world about this because I hate hearing a knock at my door.

Granted, two of the three people who have ever came to my house in this manner have left in police cars. The other asked to take apart my lawn mower to see how a spring was installed, which was a request just odd enough I couldn’t help but grant it.

Those experiences are probably part of the reason I don’t really look forward to unexpected guests and the other part is probably just my old man hermit-like nature.

Combine those two factors and I’ve probably come off as a jerk more than a few times to random knockers, so it’s kind of a scary thought to read Hebrews 13:2.

“Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.”

Freaking angels, man.

I very well might have been blown off some angels posing as a college student trying to sell me a combo subscription to “Redbook” and “O.”

I don’t like to think about that. For starters, I like to think my angels would offer me “Highlights” instead. (Serious question: Has this ever been ordered by a non-doctor’s office? Is that even possible?)

But more importantly, I hate the idea that I might have been anything less than courteous to angels. They carry a pretty high rank. I mean, we’re talking about the folks who told spread the news about Jesus’ birth, jacked up Jacob’s hip during a wrestling match, and helped a Danny Glover managed baseball team reach the playoffs. They deserve some courtesy and/or candy.

Really though, I should hate the idea of me being less than courteous to anyone who shows up at my house. I mean, sometimes it only takes a glimmer of light to brighten up an entirely dark day for a person. I probably could have been that glimmer. Dang it.

Maybe treating everyday like Halloween is a start.

Maybe I should answer the door ready to give something away each and every time, rather than all beady-eyed scanning the person at the door like I’m RoboCop for a weapon.

Who knows, maybe the knocker will be an angel or maybe he or she will know where I can get a copy of “Highlights.” Either way, unless I open the door with a hospitable attitude, I’ll likely never know.

On a side note, I don’t know if the angel thing applies to Halloween, but just in case I would suggest ditching those nasty black and orange chewy candies immediately. Do you really want to give those to an angel?

— @TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

