Toilet water: Think before you drink

Cleaning the toilet sucks.

It’s one of those tasks you never think about as you’re growing up, somehow (your mom) the toilet just never gets to the point of being labeled a nuclear waste site. She just loved you too much to let that happen, even if it was on your end of the chore wheel. When you get out on your own, however, you realize it’s all you.

Today, it was all me, so I sucked it up and got to work. Then disaster struck.

The toilet water got me.

It splashed up and at least two drops hit my face. MY FACE. I’m pretty sure I threw up a little bit in my mouth.

Granted, it was just water and I really cannot confirm or deny it was all that different from the water that comes out of the tap. Heck, it was probably definitely a lot cleaner than the water I used to swim in at Myrle Beach.

But the fact remained that because it came from the toilet it was poop water and having it touch my face was just plain wrong.

I’m sure you understand, unless of course you are a dog, in which case I’m very impressed at your internet savvy.

Toilet water is actually the one big reason I believe dogs have a very selective intelligence. I mean, Lassie can save 10 orphans from a well, but just as soon as she’s done, she’s running up to rehydrate from the same bowl Timmy just did work in. Gross.

This got me to thinking, if this water was already out of the toilet and in a cup, could I be tricked by it? Would I drink it without questioning its source and just assume it was from the tap or that spring they use to brew Coors in Golden Springs, Colorado?

Truth be told, I would probably never ask, drink up and get some awful poop water illness.

People are always handing us things in life. Not so much water, but opinions, wisdom, causes, and life advice.

Sometimes it’s from a good source, sometimes it’s not.

Sometimes it’s right, sometimes it just seems right, and sometimes it’s just flat out wrong.

Lord knows I’ve drank my share of toilet water in life. Figuratively, I mean….or at least I pray. So as I’ve gotten older I’ve tried to question the source of any and all ideas, options, and thoughts as they are handed to me.

Who is telling me this? Why are they telling me this? And most importantly, where are they getting this from?

The Bible says to test the spirits, don’t just jump on the sexy whim of the day, measure it up against what you know to be true. (1 John 4:1)

That’s what were supposed to do and for good reason. Let’s face it, there are a lot of people out there tossing out nutball ideas that at first glance, seem pretty legit. (Inset Flex Ab Belt ad here) Plenty of them sound reasonable and some might even sound noble and good until you really put them to the test.

So whether it’s a teacher, preacher, parent, professor, or friend, put them through the ringer. You, and them, can only benefit from this.

You’ll either become even more confident in them and their message or you’ll learn they’re full of crap.

Either way, you need to know before you drink up.

@TravisKWilliams

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

