Wet socks suck

I do a lot stupid things.

One of those has on occasionally been to refuse to pick up ice when dropped on the floor. Instead I’ll just kind of scoot it under the edge of the cabinet with my foot.

Stupid, I know, but don’t lie, you’ve done it too. And why? I’m not sure, but probably because it seems easier at the time. That’s why I do it.

What I am sure of is that this is a recipe for wet socks about an hour later. And there are few things that suck worse than wet socks.

Now I’m not going to just continue lounging around my place with that soggy mess. I mean, what am I, an animal? No, this situation means I’ve got to go all the way to the bedroom, throw the wet sock in the hamper and find new footwear.

Of course then I’m faced with another dilemma.

Rarely does more than a single sock get soaked, so I’m faced with either tossing a sock that I haven’t gotten 100 percent out of in the hamper or breaking up a pair from the sock drawer and thus creating that nasty unbalance of socks. And honestly, everyone hates the stag sock in the drawer.

So either way I’m losing this sock battle and all because I didn’t want to spend the extra three seconds to properly take care of the mess I made.

Oh, and I probably still have to clean up that water on the kitchen floor or at least avoid the room until it evaporates. That’s a 50-50 situation depending how quickly the sock exchange goes and what’s on TV.

In the grand scheme of things this isn’t that huge of a deal, but it got me to thinking about how I handle the other messes I create in life.

My bad habits, my mistakes, my sins. A lot of times it seems so much easier to just scoot them under the cabinet edge. Just push them out of sight instead of taking care of them the right way when they are still a three-second problem.

A lot of times this just leads to having a bigger problem to deal with later. A bigger and often more time consuming mess to clean up and sometimes one that even leaves a stain.

Taking the lazy way out and not dealing with mistakes, problems, and sins at their beginning very often ends with having to deal with wet socks. And wet socks suck.

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

