Being exposed

In June Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Riley Cooper had what was undoubtedly one of his worst moments when he decided to launch an anger-filled racial slur at a security guard at a Kenny Chesney concert.

By the end of July, and thanks to a camera phone, that moment would go viral and become all but required viewing for every fan and non-fan around the country. Cooper at his worst, right there in your living room, kitchen, or wherever you keep a TV. Completely exposed and ripe for a public lashing.

Of course he isn’t the first person to have one of their worst moments broadcasted. Heck TMZ has made a fortune off similar circumstances. But each time one of these instances draws in my attention, one thought comes back and slaps me in the face.

God sees me on the toilet.

Now unless you’re one of those couples with open-door policy, which is something I shall never understand nor tolerate, your toilet time is likely private. Let’s be honest, those aren’t are best moments, and thanks to Mexican buffets, can offer be some of our worst.

But there I sit, fully exposed, with a stack of old Sports Illustrateds in front of the holiest of all beings.

Of course it’s not just bathrooms in which God has seen me at my worst. He’s seen me say and do things that no doubt offended him, angered him, and even hurt him. Plenty of me at my worst has gone completely viral in that sense.

For Cooper’s crime, he has already been fined an undisclosed amount by Philly and there are plenty more angered, offended, or hurt folks calling for his job.

On the other hand, God, who has every right to call for a similar or even worse punishment for my crimes, takes a different route.

Instead of blasting me for being an idiot, he loves me. Instead of demanding me to pay, he offers to pay my debt for me. And instead of smacking a label on my chest, he forgives me and wipes the slate clean.

God sees me on the toilet and yet he still wants me on his team. I think that’s pretty cool.

About travman44

I work as a reporter for a newspaper in southwest Virginia. I play as a writer specializing in deep thoughts on shallow, and occasionally not so shallow, subjects. I'm also a former history teacher, bible college alum, and lover of the NBA and kids' breakfast cereals. It's a delicate blend. -- @TravisKWilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

